Half Girlfriend – Half full : MyKnowings

That was first week of august. I was tired and I jumped over my bed and went under my bed sheet. I switched on the TV. It was some news channel and the anchor was talking about a book called Half Girlfriend. I was puzzled, whose book is that? After few minutes I got my answer. It was Chetan Bhagat talking about his up coming book Half Girlfriend. That was the first time I heard about Half Girlfriend. Right after that moment I decided to read the book. I took down the book name to Google Keep. Days had gone, I missed to order the book on released day. However I ordered the book after 3 days. I completed the book in very soon. By the end I was with some weird feelings. Lets see what is that.

Half Girlfriend

Half Girlfriend

I have read almost all books of Chetan. So before starting the book I had the mark of Chetan’s pen style in my mind. The first portions of the book was like as usual Chetan’s style. I found one common point here, Chetan tries to make you feel that the story is not a fiction. Yes, even after completion of the book we will be in a dilemma ‘is this a really a fiction?’. I like this trick. As I turned page after page, it was like a movie going on.

As I come to middle portion, I felt Chetan just tried to cover it. It was like he decided two shores and he built a nice bridge. To be frank what he has done is correct. The story has two layers, love and another layer I cannot name it. To show the Love layer he used first and last portions. Total middle portion depicted determination and hardwork skills. Everybody know that Chetan targets youth of India. He likes to give inspiration to the Indian youth. Even this time he has not excluded it.

The final portion is really impressing. Hero finds that his love is not dead. He uses his connections to know about his love. He goes to another country in finding her, he struggles a lot there, days goes, his hopes starts melting, he plans to put a dot to his searching, but finally, as some one recited some mantras and blessed with wand, he finds his love. This portion is really had done magic.

To summarize my view, Chetan’s pen is been diverting from its base line. He had concentrated more on story. Finally it became a normal movie story. This is what he should not forget. Of course he will not, but he has to concentrate. I’ve read book of foreign authors, and I read some Telugu novels. What the authors always do is, they will give knowledge along with story. That really sticks our mind to story and our fingers to pages. Chetan needs to inculcate this formula more and more. In one sentence Half Girlfriend is a so-so kind. Hope he will do better in future.

Don’t hesitate to share your views here. Comment if you have any. Thank you folks

